The First Day

Next Deadline: Thursday, January 26th at 11:59PM EST

(Story starts here, skip to the bottom if you just want to know what to do with your turn)

It was the beginning of a new adventure.  A small crowd of people, each with their own stories and objectives, were huddled together on a small island towards the center of an archipelago known as the Everything Islands.  Some were old friends, exchanging greetings and stories from their last adventure with promise for the one at hand.  Some were unfamiliar faces, eager to share the adventure to come with others while making new friends along the way.  Some were alone in the crowd, thinking through their plans now that they were finally here in the islands.  They had all prepared, and they had all been waiting.

Until now.

A large ship that had come into vision on the horizon a while ago had finally pulled up to the dock that served as the only interesting feature of the island they were currently waiting on.  It was presumably the same dock they had all been dropped off at, though nobody in particular cared to remember how they had arrived.  Though moving slowly, the reckless navigation still caused the ship to crack quite a few planks as the dock slowed its movement to a halt.

The ship was a beast of a vessel, with a maw that easily looked like it could swallow another ship whole.  It fact, the design of the ship almost hinted at that being the ship’s purpose.  All inquiry stopped when a lone figure descended from the ship and walked towards the pack of adventurers, introducing himself.

“Ahoy friends! As ye can clearly see by me kingly crown and golden king scepter-leg, I am the king of these isles, King Daggerbeard!  As ye may have heard, these isles are filled with things of yer wildest imagination!   Anything ye can think of, ye can achieve on these here islands, except finding treasure.  Nope, thar definitely be no treasure here on these islands, and if ye find anything ye think looks like treasure, yer better off reporting it to me!  It’s probably a er… cursed barnacle er somethin’, ye hear?!

I’ve got some provisions for ye in exchange for yer co-operation, understood?  By co-operation, all I mean is that ye keep yer grubby paws off me treasu- er, ye keep safe by steering clear of those cursed barnacles!  Also that ye keep out of boardin’ distance of the isle with the fortress atop it – that be me base of operat- er, me home.  The second one isn’t really an option, as me cannons’ll blow ye out of the water if ye try.  But ye get the idea.  These provisions come in two forms, and I’ll let ye decide which yer lookin’ for.

If ye organize yerself in teams, I have a certain number of seafaring vessels to give to the largest teams, but I only have a few to give away, so organize yerselves accordingly!  Each vessel has a few standard feature, plus each potentially has a unique modification or two I made meself!

If ye aren’t the team-oriented kind of person, or perhaps ye have problems making friends, it’s a fairly common problem, ye will receive an adventurer’s pack, a bag of goodies I pieced together meself!  Each bag has a bit of the same stuff, plus potentially a random gift from ol’ King Daggerbeard himself!”

—–

Welcome to the first day of Everything Islands!

This turn is all about getting organized for the game that is to come.  As King Daggerbeard generously explained, he has some gifts to give you for some reason, and all you have to do is tell him how you want to play.  Use this turn to talk to some other people on this island, and figure out if you want to be part of a team, or work by yourself.  The benefits to working in a team are obvious, but by working alone King Daggerbeard will give you an adventurer’s pack that is definitely worthwhile.

Once you know what you want to do, leave a comment with your decision to be part of a specific team or work alone on this post.  Deadline for posting is Thursday, January 26th at 11:59PM EST.

Additionally, a couple people have asked me to extend the sign-up deadline and honestly that’s fine.  If someone new wants to sign up for Everything Islands, tell them to comment on this post with whether or not they want to be on a specific team or work alone.

53 thoughts on “The First Day

  1. “I hereby declare that I am the leader of the RedSunArmy! However! I will not be recruiting as I had said I would be before! The RedSunArmy consists of only myself, but best of luck to everyone else nonetheless.” RSE said, stamping a foot and moving forward. “Good king, I hope to do business with you that will be very mutually beneficial.”

    Bowing slightly, RSE asked the king for a pack and a boat for himself.

    • Once given his pack and on-board his boat, RSE immediately sets sail for an island. He chooses which island based on the roll of a large unwieldy die. After he is safely under way, he begins drawing up blueprints for fortifications and siege weaponry.

  2. The only sun I live under is red. But if the boss wants to play solo, I’m declaring myself a chief engineer of Red Sun Dog Construction Bureau

  3. “Ahoy my name is Mr.Puff, I come to work by myself, and maybe make some friends of mine, though… I highly doubt that. I only for small provisions to start, and maybe a small boat… I am sure that I can find my own way with a little of your help. That be said… I hope the other people here will enjoy themselves… Because I know I will” Mr.Puff bows to the king and marches off, smirking as he goes

  4. I had actually already been thinking of being by myself since i have no desire for teamwork.. 100% concentration on the goals of captain rosco mcawesome!

  5. I’ll be posting under this name now (instead of Velocity) because I made my own blog on here so I’m logged in!

    I’d be willing to join a team if any teams are formed, so I’m withholding my decision until I see more people post.

  6. (Are we doing this role play style? Does it matter?)

    If anyone has a shred of awesome in them, they will join the Keepers of Elysium. If not, they’re probably a man-eating demon shark. OF DARKNESS.

    …But we can still be friends.

    >_>

    • DAMMIT, how did you know my end goal was to be a man eating demon shark of Darness. MY PLAN IS ALREADY FOILED. That or I’m already halfway there. I’m not really sure yet. This requires more research.

    • Avast, me harties! I’ll be joinin’ this har teem o’ the Keepers! Together we*ll plot a course far adventer and freindships wit’ loods o’ misspellins; gramar-up-messin’s; an’ a complet lak o’ unecesarie leters, HAR!

  7. I will be setting off on my own. That being said, I would also like to offer my friendship to other intrepid explorers. I will be forming a council of equals amongst fellow wanderers should any of you wish to join. This will be more of a support network than a team. Should any of you need assistance we will find a way to come to your aid. To clarify, We is currently me, but feel free to give me a yell if you would like to join up.

    • ::Approaches Dann Tuggles:: Hello Dann, I am Beau. I would be interested in forming this council with you and others. I’m a wandering mercenary seeking adventure, usually I work alone, but I expect I might need help on this island, and that it will be benicical to the both of us and the council.

      –:: Backstory ::–
      Beau is a swordsman who wields a Two-Handed sword. He hardly speaks to others unless it is benifical to him, and as a mercenary he is often refered to as The Beast. Because he fights without regard for his life, and as a beast. With his only objective being to complete his task.

      • Itylhive, old friend I would be more than happy to trade peacefully. I will also be focusing mainly on land exploration.

        It stands to reason then that we should currently limit ourselves to one or two island to stay connected.

        Beau, of course I am more than pleased to meet you, and you are more than welcome to join us. That being said, support council doesn’t roll off the tongue well. Does anyone have a suggestion as to what we should call ourselves?

  8. Im with Mike Lynch on this one, Ill be waiting to see If a team id be willing to join pops up. However If Mike is interested we can start up a team and I can probably rope in the two other players I told about this game.

    • Oi, Viral. I have a feeling that a large vessel can make my goals much easier to achieve. So if you can rally up a bunch of vicious (or reliable) bunch of crew members, I’ll be happy to join.

  9. I will take my bag of naughty secrets and start a team “Mostly Harmless”. If anyone wants to join, feel free. Focus is on nautical exploration.

    • If it turns out that neither of us get enough members to form our own groups, would you be interested in teaming up?

      • If I don’t get members I’ll join your team. If I do get members, looking forward to trading nautical charts.

  10. Vaclav, signing in. Blessings of peace and serenity to all; I will be acting independently (a person is smart; people are dumb, panicky animals, and you know it) but I will be glad to assist anyone I encounter with any constructive and peaceful goals.

  11. As declared above, I am requesting of Dann Tuggles (sup Nick) to join his independent support group. That being said, I will be lone wolfing.

  12. Anyone else see the value in forming an army to revolt against King Daggerbeard and loot his shit? Don’t allow yourself to be placated by his little gifts while he lives in staggering opulence in his island fortress.

  13. Gents, I’ll see you ALL in the wilds of the Everything Islands.

    Cordially,
    Wahoo McDaniels

  14. I am hereby founding The Awesome Squad! If you enjoy adventure, camaraderie, pasta, and the occasional worship of elder gods that exist beyond the thinly veiled facade of what we call reality in a writhing void of chaos, than this is the team for you! Accepting anyone who wants to join!

    • THIS SOUNDS AWESOME! Sergio, come join this team! Seems like we have a lot of lone wolves out there.
      I’ll be joining Ossa’s team officially.

      We’ll need a way to discuss what we’re doing. Maybe on facebook? We’d need to add each other.

    • I shall be joining Team Awesome Squad as its Chief Engineer and Scientist. I will strive to use the knowledge I gained from the previous island experience to help further our goals. Lets get ready to pull technology out of thin air!

  15. HELLOCOMMA GENTLEMENPERIOD I WOULD LIKE TO EXTEND THE INVITATION FOR ALL OF YOU TO JOIN THE GREEN TEAMPERIOD THE RULES OF BEING ON THE GREEN TEAM ARE SIMPLECOLON YOU WILL ONLY COMMUNICATE USING CHARACTERS DEFINED BY THE ASCII CODES SIXTYDASHFIVE TO NINETYLEFTPARENTHESISAND THIRTYDASHTWORIGHTPARENTHESISCOMMA AND YOU WILL TREAT ALL ANIMALS WITH THE UTMOST OF RESPECTPERIOD
    WE WOULD LOVE TO HAVE YOU AS A MEMBER OF OUR COMMUNITYEXCLAMATIONMARK

    • FINNA BE REPPING THE GREEN TEAM AGAINEXCLAMATIONMARK CANAPOSTROPHET WAIT TO MAKE FRIENDS WITH ALL THE ANIMALS AND REGAIN ALL OF OUR GLORYPERIOD

  16. GREEN TEAM RECRUITCOMMA BRUMBLE BEECOMMA SIGNING UP FOR DUTY CAPTAINEXCLAMATIONMARK IAPOSTROPHEM EXCITED TO REMARK THAT I HAVE BROUGHT MY FULLCOMMA ALBEIT SMALLCOMMA COLLECTION OF ROCKS THAT LOOK LIKE BODY PARTS WITH MEPERIOD I CANAPOSTROPHET WAIT TO MEET SOME ADORABLE ANIMALSEXCLAMATION MARK
    LONG LIVE TEAM GREEN TEAMINTERROBANG

  17. HEREBY JOINING THE GREEN TEAM ONCE AGAIN FOR LULZ AND GLORYEXCLAMATIONMARK I WOULD LIKE TO ASK THE CAPTAIN TO DIRECT US TO AN ISLAND WITH ANIMAL FRIENDSPERIOD I WILL ALSO INQUIRE AS TO WHETHER THE CAPTAIN STILL HAS OUR LOGO FROM THE LAST GAME COMMA SINCE IAPOSTRAPHEM NOT SURE WHETHER IT IS STILL ON MY OLD COMPUTER OR NOTPERIOD HINT HINT KEVIN HINT HINT

  18. ::Beau apporaches King Daggerbeard:: I will be joining Dann Tuggles’ network. I would like to request the use of a vessel for the network to use for adventures: so long as one third the council approves. If it is possible, I would also like to request an adventurer’s pack. I understand that I am a part of a network, but seeing as how we act independently of each other, and only request the aid of others in time of need. I feel that an adventurer’s pack would be useful for myself.

  19. The Awesome Squad is now actively recruiting! Come join us if you like being awesome or like being really awesome.

  20. That big pile of stuff on the deck that was covered in a tarp that you thought was supplies, wasn’t supplies. The massive frame hidden within the tarp rises and silently walks towards one of the small unoccupied boats, really only because King Daggerbeard was pointing at them.

    • ::With a glace at the ship, Beau watches as the Golem rises. Muscles tense as he grips his sword’s handle, widening his stance. preparing for a fight. As the Golem walks further away he relaxes his grip on the handle, and settles into a neutral stance as he awaits Daggerbread’s decisions regarding the ship and supples.::

  21. Yoo~ Seems like Team Awesome Squad has some things that I love! PASTA MMM! If you guys are still recruiting, I shall lend my skills~

  22. My official name is now….”Captain Awesome…which is in no way affiliated with the Awesome Squad…which sucks…

Comments are closed.