The Penultimate Day

Whether or not you played up until the very end or dropped off somewhere in the middle, I’d really appreciate your feedback so please give this post a read, thanks!

So here’s the deal, Everything Islands has to come to a conclusion because it is required to for the course.  Naturally, this is a bit of an awkward project to “end” because it is entirely personally goal-oriented, and it seems strange to then measure the worth of everyone’s actions in a single story-driven finale.  While I’m not claiming this is the best, or the ideal way to end the project, nor am I claiming that its last while has been successful even in the slightest, I certainly think bringing the project to a close is more satisfying/rewarding than none, so this is what I’m proposing.

Below is a simple survey, a couple of questions I’m asking you about the project so that I may present these ideas in the final presentation of the project.  I’d appreciate it if you’d fill it out, don’t be shy, I know all of you enjoy writing to some extent and it’d really help me out!  Answer all or some of the questions, really just whatever you feel like, man.

Regardless of whether or not you feel like filling out the survey, this is where you make your final stand.  Your bucket list of Everything Islands.  In addition to this post, there will be another post updated with a bit of story;  A bunch of brainstorming in regards to the end of Everything Islands, and what I want you to do is post how you see the end unfolding for your character.  It’s kind of like a super turn;  Do whatever you would as per normal, but feel free to be incredibly liberal with your actions, since your character has theoretically a week or two of “concluding” to get accomplished.  In typical Everything Islands fashion, I was respond to these endings in one final story update sometime this week, I’m shooting for Wednesday/Thursday but Friday wouldn’t be out of the question.

In addition to this makeshift conclusion, after the formal showing of this project on the 6th, the site will continue to receive some of the following content just for  your support and involvement with the project.

– The carnival update, just to have fun with it.
– The spreadsheet that was used to track everything along the way.
– An Everything Islands particpant exclusive AMA (Ask Me Anything)
– A video (when I finish it ugh videos)
– Finished map, so you can fondly look back on it
– Super lame combat analysis thing

Name In-Game:

How did you hear about Everything Islands?:

Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?:

In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play?  In what ways was it the same?:

When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.):

How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands?  Was it more helpful or limiting?  If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?:

Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective:

How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?:

What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project?

Thanks in advance, and if for any reason you don’t feel like posting the answers to these questions here, feel free to e-mail me at UmbrellaExile@gmail.com

17 thoughts on “The Penultimate Day

  1. RedSunEternal
    1. I heard about EIs indirectly from you, on your blog.
    2. Because the first one was awesome, and I enjoy your gameplay/design decisions in games.
    3. Different in that it allowed for complete choice and was mostly a text-based game. The same in that it technically had a stat system and was turn-based.
    4. During my freetime, usually directly after it updated.
    5. Due to the nature of the game, WordPress worked perfectly. It allowed everyone a forum to post their turns as well as see others turns. The one limitation of WordPress seemed to be that there was no explicit option to contact you as the author off-site.
    6. My character actually began his adventure in EIs before the game even officially started. I played in the last EI and had arguably the most successful group, even though we didn’t have the most people. Because of this several people expected me to re-form this group at the start of this game as well. However, I decided not to form this group and thus through the entire turn into a tumult as the largest majority of players were no longer able to join my group as it didn’t exist. Afterwards my character set-up a stronghold location, and then left to explore other islands and forge himself a weapon. Oh, and I discovered an easter egg and “broke the game in halves and then fourths and finally into eighths.”
    7. My characters motivations and goals changed in the beginning when he found out he would get an awesome pack and magic item if he started the game by himself. After that he kept to the same goals of establishing a fortified position and improving himself.
    8. My favorite thing about EIs was the NPC interactions in the background.

  2. >Name In-Game:

    Itylhive.

    >How did you hear about Everything Islands?:

    Mike Burns’ FB status update.

    >Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?:

    Liked the previous project.

    >In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play? In what ways was it the same?:

    Different in that I do not see my overall stats, and progression is mostly intuitive.
    Similar in that narrow focus in character development seems to be more rewarding than having a jack of all trades

    >When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.):

    Home, after/before work

    >How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands? Was it more helpful or limiting? If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?:

    Decent enough. Obviously map hosting was a problem at first.

    >Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective:

    Itylhive started by building a tool/weapon to pass time and observe some of the mechanics of the island. He then headed off to an island that contained resources to build a vessel. After gathering a team he focused on maxing out his most used ([mysterystuff]) skill to add flavor to all his actions thenceforth. He and his team completed a large project (boat) and were well on their way to do something outrageous.

    >How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?:

    The skill I gained first became the focus and flavor for my character. I didn’t know where I was going with it at first.

    >What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project?

    Building the boat. That progressed unexpectedly fast and unexpectedly well.

  3. “The time is nigh!”–Itylhive bellowed, stepping into the ritual hall. He picked up [Goldilocks], who was herself crackling with impatience, and proceeded to channel all the destructive forces he could bend to his will into her curvy and deadly shapes. As dimensional boundaries unraveled, he bargained with every extradimensional entity that was willing to listen, borrowing power at exorbitant interest rates. In a single flash, he unleashed the torrent of destruction, breaking the chains left on Esoteric Lord Bacon by the treacherous Common Celery Clan, freeing him, and possibly a number of some lesser beings of chaos and destruction.

  4. Name In-Game:
    Parrotfantatic!

    How did you hear about Everything Islands?:
    Itylhive’s status update on Facebook.

    Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?:
    Sounded like an incredibly open ended RP game where I could, say, coat daggers in poo and shank civilians. I was correct.

    In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play? In what ways was it the same?:
    Everything Islands functions less like your typical online game and more like a classic Pen and Paper RPG, such as Dungeons and Dragons. But like an online game, it allows me to play with brand new people through the glory that is the internet.

    When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.):
    On my mobile devices at work. My job has lots of free time between shifts.

    How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands? Was it more helpful or limiting? If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?:
    WordPress was sufficient. I enjoyed swapping out my (Gr)avatar image based on injury, etc. Larger images would have made that cooler/more noticeable.

    Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective:
    Basically I’m a criminally insane rogue parrot. I sneak around and shank things, curse under my breath about mammalian oppression, and yet am eager to aid my teammates. My motivations may seems strange but they’re actually very heavily based on the wants and desires of my two parrots IRL, with extra poo added. Because poo is always funny.

    How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?:
    End of the world -> Shank things -> Kraken Ship -> Shank things -> Make magic shiv -> Shank things

    What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project?
    The Bacon Maru #2. Everyone loves giant tentacle ra- I mean, monsters.

  5. Name In-Game: JohnnyViral

    How did you hear about Everything Islands?: Was informed directly by Holmes.

    Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?: Because the original Everything Island was fun, and this time I thought I could at least complete my turrets.

    In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play? In what ways was it the same?: Its entirely people driven, some games I play are like that, but not to the degree that Everything Islands is. Player interaction was crucial. It was like playing a co-op boardgame that you played in teams and were making up along the way.

    When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.): Seeing as I had a ton of free time, I played it every time an update came out.

    How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands? Was it more helpful or limiting? If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?: I thought it did the job just fine.

    Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective: Viral joined up with the Awesome Squad, assumed the role of Chief Scientist and Engineer and proceed to make a better vent system for their ship, gas masks, a lab coat and turret plans. He also developed metal songs with fellow squad member Mike. It was glorious.

    How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?: My personal goal stayed mostly the same through out, but due to the limitations with the ship I did spend some rounds just generally helping the team.

    What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project? When I got the gas mask, and Kevin let me wear it almost indefinitely forcing other players to hear me kind of muffled.

  6. Name In-Game: Golem Architect (lastly Planar Golem Architect)

    How did you hear about Everything Islands?: I was at a Techmaturgy symposium when a strange yordle scientist told me about this interesting voyage about to be undertaken. Possibly talking to UE when he said, hey Everything Islands is going for round 2.

    Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?: To further test the limits of golem sentience.

    In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play? In what ways was it the same?: Different: A lot more open ended and allowed for a dynamic game play that allowed one to adopt different strategies on the fly. Same: I played Everything Egg and the original Everything Island.

    When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.): After work.

    How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands? Was it more helpful or limiting? If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?: I think it worked very well.

    Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective: My character set out to learn their place in the world. Also to make miniature golems because they didn’t want to be truly alone, or because I like building golems. Possibly a combination of both, possibly just one of those.

    How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?: My plans more or less stayed on track. I stayed as a neutral party even thought I was technically aligned with Green Team. They changed a bit when Green Team just decided to follow me.

    What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project?
    When Green Team stole that boat that was polluting everything was pretty funny.

  7. For the Survey –

    1 – You are my roommate, so i heard about it from you.

    2 – I decided to play because I participated in Everything Island and it was enjoyable, also to help with your project.

    3 – I haven’t played text based games in a very long time so this is unique in that regard. It was the same since I have played D&D and in both of those games you are a character that has to fulfill tasks with basically an open book in front of you and endless possibilities of choices.

    4 – I played either right before I went to sleep or right after I woke up.

    5 – WordPress worked much better than the previous iteration…either that or you just added more features this time that were absent last time..aka the gifs and images along the way…and the map. They were both helpful and cool. Not sure what would be better..computer websites are not really my knowledge base.

    6 – My character’s original goal was to turn every person on Everything Islands into zombies..this was thwarted when one of the teams got a science ship and could instantly do that if they so chose..and further with the appearance of the zmobies….with that plan ruined I changed tactics into just trying to explore and name an island that nobody else was on…the most obvious one being the one near Captain Daggerbeard’s island since it was out of bounds. Sneaking onto that and infuriating Daggerbeard as much as possible became the new goal. Also I guess I masturbated furiously with only one hand because i needed something else that was minor to do every day so i didn’t have one line posts since most of mine were quite simple in theory. Having one huge arm seemed sweet.

    7 – I think i just accidentally answered this in the last question! yay me

    8 – best thing easily was after I snuck onto the forbidden island. If you click on the map where it says I inhabit the island too, Daggerbeard looks over with question marks…it gets worse after I named it. Amazing.

  8. Name In-Game: anthcul158

    How did you hear about Everything Islands?: Considering you are my brother and all, I heard from your FB.

    Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?: Because your little sistah lurves you! And wants to support you. And I was curious because it seemed cool. If it seemed lame, I wouldn’t have played regardless of you being my brother and all.

    In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play? In what ways was it the same?: I’ve never played a game like this (turn based, role playing, or what-have-you). So it was very, very different. It was the same in that I still didn’t care what other people did (like in RPGs or whatnot).

    When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.): Mainly it was during my hour-long break between classes, but it could also be late at night in lieu of studying, or early in the morning right when I woke up (so I could be the first to respond, since that matters…)

    How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands? Was it more helpful or limiting? If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?: I wish it was easier to find what post you belong to. I’d get six emails every update, and only two applied to me. If there was some way to change that, it’d be great, but hell if I know how.

    Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective: I did nothing productive, since I had no idea what to do. Eventually I found a friend, Bob the Blob, and some cool forest things that traveled you from one to the other. I also was really looking forward to low tide so I could explore that goddamn trap door, but that never happened… Oh, and I found some jewels that I could trade. And I saved some people from the storm with my awesome shelter.

    How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?: I guess I realized from what other people were doing that I was doing it wrong. So I was smart and built a shelter for the storm, so that was helpful. I still felt lost and aimless though.

    What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project?: I was really excited about that dang trapdoor, and getting both Bob the Blob and all those jewels was pretty cool. I also really want to know what my token got me at the carnival, since I was the only one with the special token.

  9. NAME INDASHGAMECOLON GREENTEAMLEADER

    HOW DID YOU HEAR ABOUT EVERYTHING ISLANDSQUESTIONMARKCOLON KEVINSINGLEQUOTES FACEBOOK I THINK

    WHY DID YOU DECIDE TO PLAY EVERYTHING ISLANDSQUESTIONMARKCOLON BECAUSE IT SOUNDED AWESOMECOMMA AND I KNEW THAT NO ONE ELSE WOULD TAKE ADEQUATE MEASURES TO PROTECT WILDLIFE ON THE ISLANDS

    IN WHAT WAYS WAS EVERYTHING ISLANDS DIFFERENT FROM GAMES YOU NORMALLY PLAYQUESTIONMARK IN WHAT WAYS WAS IT THE SAMEQUESTIONMARKCOLON WELLCOMMA THE GAMES I NORMALLY PLAY USUALLY INVOLVE PUTTING BULLETS THROUGH PEOPLECOMMA SO THAT WAS A CHANGE UP I GUESSPERIOD

    WHEN DID YOU PLAY EVERYTHING ISLANDSQUESTIONMARK LEFTPARENTHESISIPERIODEPERIOD FREETIMECOMMA AT WORKCOMMA DURING SCHOOLFORWARDSLASHCLASSCOMMA ETCPERIODRIGHTPARENTHESISCOLON WHILE PROCRASTINATING AND AT WORKPERIOD SOMETIMES IN CLASSPERIOD

    HOW DID YOU FEEL WORDPRESS SERVED AS A PLATFORM FOR EVERYTHING ISLANDSQUESTIONMARK WAS IT MORE HELPFUL OR LIMITINGQUESTIONMARK IF YOU DON’T THINK WORDPRESS IS THE BEST OPTIONCOMMA WHAT WOULD YOU SUGGESTQUESTIONMARKCOLON I THINK IT WORKED ALRIGHT

    BRIEFLY DESCRIBE WHAT YOUR CHARACTER DID IN EVERYTHING ISLANDSCOMMA SORT OF LIKE A SUMMARY OF THE EXPERIENCE BUT FROM YOUR PERSPECTIVECOLON MY CHARACTER LEAD THE GREEN TEAM TO GREATNESSPERIOD WE PROTECTED THE ENVIRONMENT AND MADE MANY ALLIESPERIOD WE ALSO MADE SOME ENEMIESCOMMA BUT WE STOLE THEIR SHIP AND THEY WERE TOO STUPID TO NOTICE SO WHO CARES ABOUT THEMPERIOD

    HOW DID YOUR PERSONAL GOALS AND THE WAY THAT YOU PLAYED THE GAME CHANGE AS THE GAME WENT ALONGCOMMA IF AT ALLQUESTIONMARKCOLON OUR CORE PHILOSOPHY NEVER CHANGEDPERIOD LOVE THE ANIMALSPERIOD

    WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE MOMENT OF EVERYTHING ISLANDSCOMMA OR YOUR FAVORITE THING ABOUT THE PROJECTQUESTIONMARK DAT SHIP

  10. NAME INDASHGAMECOLON BRUMBLE BPERIOD

    HOW DID YOU HEAR ABOUT EVERYTHING ISLANDSQUESTIONMARKCOLON
    WELL I DIDNAPOSTROPHET HEAR ABOUT IT THROUGH FACEBOOK MESSAGING SO I MUST HAVE BEEN RECRUITED BY THE GLORIOUS GREEN TEAM LEADEREXCLAMATIONMARK

    WHY DID YOU DECIDE TO PLAY EVERYTHING ISLANDSQUESTIONMARKCOLON
    I PLAYED EVERYTHING ISLANDS TO FULFILL THE GREAT GOALS OF GREEN TEAMPERIOD BEFRIEND ALL ANIMALSCOMMA EXCEPT THOSE THAT DONAPOSTROPHET WANT TO BE MY FRIENDPERIOD AFTER ALLCOMMA FRIENDHYPHENRAPE IS PROBABLY BADPERIOD

    IN WHAT WAYS WAS EVERYTHING ISLANDS DIFFERENT FROM GAMES YOU NORMALLY PLAYQUESTIONMARK IN WHAT WAYS WAS IT THE SAMEQUESTIONMARKCOLON
    CONSIDERING I NORMALLY PLAY KIRBYCOMMA ZELDA OR POKEMONCOMMA EVERYTHING ISLANDS WAS PRIMARILY DIFFERENT IN THAT IT WAS AN ENTIRELY OPEN ENVIRONMENT WITH POTENTIALLY INFINITELY COMPLEX DECISION TREESPERIOD IT DIDNAPOSTROPHET REALLY STOP ME FROM TRYING TO PLAY POKEMON THOUGHPERIOD

    WHEN DID YOU PLAY EVERYTHING ISLANDSQUESTIONMARK LEFTPARENTHESISIPERIODEPERIOD FREETIMECOMMA AT WORKCOMMA DURING SCHOOLFORWARDSLASHCLASSCOMMA ETCPERIODRIGHTPARENTHESISCOLON
    I CHECKED FOR UPDATES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLECOMMA AND ONLY MISSED UPDATES FOR THINGS LIKE EXAMS AND WHATNOTPERIOD

    HOW DID YOU FEEL WORDPRESS SERVED AS A PLATFORM FOR EVERYTHING ISLANDSQUESTIONMARK WAS IT MORE HELPFUL OR LIMITINGQUESTIONMARK IF YOU DON’T THINK WORDPRESS IS THE BEST OPTIONCOMMA WHAT WOULD YOU SUGGESTQUESTIONMARKCOLON IT SEEMED GOOD ENOUGH BUT IAPOSTROPHEM NOT SURE WHAT ELSE EXISTS THAT COULD BE BETTERPERIOD

    BRIEFLY DESCRIBE WHAT YOUR CHARACTER DID IN EVERYTHING ISLANDSCOMMA SORT OF LIKE A SUMMARY OF THE EXPERIENCE BUT FROM YOUR PERSPECTIVECOLON
    MY CHARACTER SCIENCED AS HARD AS HE COULD AND BEFRIENDED ANIMALS FOR THE SOLE PURPOSE OF POTENTIALLY TEACHING THEM HYPER BEAMCOMMA BECAUSE ANIMALS ARE ADORABLE AND SHOULD BE ABLE TO HYPER BEAM TO PROVE TO THE NONBELIEVERS HOW ADORABLE THEY AREPERIOD

    HOW DID YOUR PERSONAL GOALS AND THE WAY THAT YOU PLAYED THE GAME CHANGE AS THE GAME WENT ALONGCOMMA IF AT ALLQUESTIONMARKCOLON
    I THINK AT SOME POINT I TRIED TO BE MORE OF A TEAM PLAYERCOMMA BUT IAPOSTROPHEM CERTAINLY NOT THE BEST AT THATPERIOD

    WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE MOMENT OF EVERYTHING ISLANDSCOMMA OR YOUR FAVORITE THING ABOUT THE PROJECTQUESTIONMARK
    MY FAVORITE PART ABOUT EVERYTHING ISLANDS WAS THE LENIENCY WE WERE ALL GIVEN WITH OUR ACTIONSPERIOD REALISTICALLYCOMMA I HAD A DELIBIRDPERIOD COME ONCOMMA THATAPOSTROPHES PROBABLY NOT FAIRPERIOD

  11. Name In-Game:
    Antiblematc

    How did you hear about Everything Islands?:
    Facebook

    Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?:
    I played last time and enjoyed myself

    In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play? In what ways was it the same?:
    Text based, no particular restrictions.
    In terms of the same, I enjoyed being on a team rather than soloing.

    When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.):
    Usually at work when I had time to kill, but I would in my free time if I needed to post.

    How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands? Was it more helpful or limiting? If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?:

    It was alright I guess I dont know how computers work
    Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective:

    A religious experience.
    How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?:

    I just maxed one stat, which is a little off from what I usually like to do. I would have liked to been able to interact with more people.

    What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project?
    Forming the Esoteric Order of Bacon and forging a great tentacle ship.

  12. Name In-Game:

    Destin

    1.How did you hear about Everything Islands?:

    YOU. Actually, Nirkit through you.

    2.Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?:

    Because I liked the last one, and the whole idea.

    3.In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play? In what ways was it the same?:

    It’s different because it’s completely fluid.

    4.When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.):

    Home after work. Sometimes during a break at work.

    5.How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands? Was it more helpful or limiting? If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?:

    I think it worked great. It might be better to have a place where you can customize more (I know NOTHING about WordPress) if you wanted to add more video game RPGish elements, but it gets the job done.

    6.Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective:

    Got a ton of luck and made a flying boat fortress with Nirkit. I think I wanted to become uberly powerful and overthrow King Daggerbeard, but I mostly was enjoying the events thrown at me.

    7.How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?:

    Not really applicable. I changed some in game actions based on events, but it didn’t really effect my “goals.”

    8.What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project?

    My favorite moment was getting the ultra Chaladholg, and Nirkit needing to be in a constant state of sexual excitement to fly the boat.

    My favorite thing about the project, without sounding gay, is UE’s personal touches to everything. From getting my One Piece reference and posting a video, to making a funny picture of someone Hogging all the Chalad, that’s what really makes it for me. This is also probably the greatest weakness of the project; it requires so much time and effort on UE’s part. Burnout is a major factor, and it must be extremely hard to run the show.

  13. Name In-Game:
    Nirkit

    How did you hear about Everything Islands?:
    UE via facebook.

    Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?:
    Because I played the last version, it was super-fun, so I thought this would be super-fun as well. Lo, it was. Also, UE’s awesomesauce.

    In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play? In what ways was it the same?:
    It’s similar to the tabletops I’ve played, except that I don’t have any kind of a rulebook. If I’d known the ins-and-outs of the system a little better, some things might have changed. Probably not, though. I knew I wanted to be psychic since it seemed like a skill I could do anything with.

    When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.):
    At home, usually. I’d try to play while I was in this one class that was a waste of my time.

    How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands? Was it more helpful or limiting? If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?:
    I don’t like WordPress for what Destin and I were doing. For large groups it might make more sense, but for the two of us, it was just weird to look through all the different posts on the front page to try to pull out the relevant ones since the order was always different. Being me, I like the system at Galadoria. Every group could have a forum, every day a thread, etc. Something like that, which is easier to read and can be navigated more quickly seems ideal.

    Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective:
    1. Wrote comedically and received comedy in return.
    2. Became as psychic as humanly possible, since I felt like it would be a good skill for utilitarian purposes (levitating the boat, getting hints from spirits, communicating with Destin and bolstering him in puzzles/fights) and self-defense.
    3. Maxed out the psychic stat. QQ’d a bit over a wasted day and my apparent inability to become Jean Grey and Psyloche rolled into one, but with bigger tits. Decided the next best thing to max out was the ability to multitask and/or get more done in a day. That seemed like the best way to bolster my hopefully game-breaking psychicness.
    4. While that’s going on, I wanted to GET ALL OF THE TREASURE. It seemed like every island had one, and I wanted them all. Once they’d all been claimed, I wanted to get all the groups together (or just steal from them) to combine all of the treasures and attack Dr. Wily’s castle. Seriously, I was hoping that if we could get Destin to wield all of the treasures, we’d find one of Dr. Light’s capsules on our way into Daggerbeard’s stronghold that gave Destin a 1-hit-kill hadoken like in Megaman X.

    How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?:
    1. I knew from the last game that I shouldn’t waste any time in training. That was the first order of business.
    2. When Destin and I ran aground, the first order of business was fixing the boat, ideally with our skills. My skills seemed way more relevant than his in regard to boat repair, so I was totally fine with staying in the boat, repairing it, and waiting for high tide.
    3. Maxed out my psychic stat. SON OF A BITCH. Use it for everything under the sun, while working on multitasking.
    4. It seemed that the islands had treasures. Gotta catch ’em all!
    5. Long-game peeks into my mind. Decide that “Gotta catch ’em all!” may mean uniting all the players under one banner, or going Team Rocket on their asses.

    What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project?
    Definitely the humor that UE brought into it, and the idea that anything I wrote could impact the scenario. Honestly, I still don’t know whether or not an erection was required to fly the ship. I didn’t want to risk not having one, though.

  14. “Seriously, I was hoping that if we could get Destin to wield all of the treasures, we’d find one of Dr. Light’s capsules on our way into Daggerbeard’s stronghold that gave Destin a 1-hit-kill hadoken like in Megaman X.”

    That made me happy in the pants.

  15. Name In-Game: COCOLOCOTE

    How did you hear about Everything Islands?: facebook message from Kevin I think

    Why did you decide to play Everything Islands?: I participated in the other two games and they were a lot of fun. Also for the glory of GREENTEAM

    In what ways was Everything Islands different from games you normally play? In what ways was it the same?: This game is obviously super open-ended, which added a level of unexpectedness that you really don’t see with other games

    When did you play Everything Islands? (i.e. freetime, at work, during school/class, etc.): Everythingislands was my default procrastination tool. I think I checked it more than facebook

    How did you feel WordPress served as a platform for Everything Islands? Was it more helpful or limiting? If you don’t think WordPress is the best option, what would you suggest?:
    it seemed to work pretty well.
    Briefly describe what your character did in Everything Islands, sort of like a summary of the experience but from your perspective:
    My character was a member of the environmental-obsessed green team. I immediately began searching for an animal friend, eventually finding a bear. I also worked on building the green team ewok village, which protected us from a rather biased lightning storm. The golem character held a lot of fascination to me (for a while we honestly weren’t sure if he was an actual character or a game device put in by Kevin) so there were some fun interactions where I followed the golem around and at one point made a stylish hat for it (it then gave me a tarp, which I wore as a cape). My crowning achievement, however, was exploiting the game mechanics concerning the nature of sea-based travel and the ridiculous travel speeds of our ship in super-fast-mode and masterminding the plot to steal away the Awesome Squad’s ship in one turn. It worked so well they never figured out what happened. Oh, and of course I also crafted sets of wooden armor for the team and began to learn to do “magic” by dancing — this included dances to grow trees, promote animal friendship, and I spent a great deal of time practicing a Thriller dance that would attempt to let us befriend the zmobie horde in the same manner as animal friends
    How did your personal goals and the way that you played the game change as the game went along, if at all?:

    I was always a gung-ho member of green team, so my initial goals revolved around establishing a base and getting animal friends. As it became apparent that I could do interesting magic by dancing I started to focus on that some more. My main motivation became developing the thriller dance to control the zmobies, and also to combat the growing evil of the Awesome Squad (dubbed the “narcissistic klan”.

    What was your favorite moment of Everything Islands, or your favorite thing about the project?

    My interactions with the golem were great; for a while we didn’t realize it was a player-character, and it was also fun having these positive interactions where we didn’t really know what the outcome would be since we couldn’t talk to the golem via the facebook group. The other best part was of course the stealthy stealing of the ship

Leave a Reply

